MGM Grand, Not So Grand After All

This past weekend  I took a trip to Las Vegas to attend a wedding and to vacation with my friends.  I stayed at the MGM Grand and  when we first checked in the  room was dirty so I requested a new one. The second room was old but clean and it was 15 rooms away from some newly renovated rooms the MGM is transitioning to.

The new rooms looked way nicer than ours so I called and asked the front desk if we could be moved to one. The MGM employee told me they could not because I booked my room through a third party and not through MGM directly. I was bummed but whatever, it’s Vegas, who needs a nice room anyway?

Last night I received an email with a survey about my visit. One of the questions was if I felt valued as a customer. I marked no and I wrote how I could not be moved to a renovated room because I did not book through MGM directly and thus making me feel not valued as a customer. I then asked if what the front desk told me was true and left my contact info.

Today I received this:

Dear Mr. Romeos:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our MGM Grand online survey. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, as they provide us with the information necessary to evaluate our performance.

I regret that your assigned accommodations were unable to meet and exceed your expectations. MGM Grand strives to create the Las Vegas resort destination our guests have always imagined by providing premier hotel amenities and the highest level of customer service possible. Unfortunately, in your case we fell short of our goal.

We truly value your observations and patronage, and will commit ourselves to a better service experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Shadi Omeish

Director of Hotel Operations

SO:tp

Did they even read what I wrote?  It is clear they did not answer my question at all. On top of that, this email comes off cold and heartless. This proves to me that MGM does not care or value me as a customer. I honestly would have preferred not to receive any email at all over this one.

When it comes to interacting with customers, this formal jargon is not always the best way to go. This is just an empty message to me. What do you think? Am I missing something? Did MGM do things right?

I don’t know. I think they need to rethink the way they handle customers.

Just my two cents.

4 thoughts on “MGM Grand, Not So Grand After All

  1. robert says:

    and to think they upgraded us brown people!

  2. ryanromeos says:

    Hahahah. You were at The Signature. Apparently it is under different management because it is a time share. I was going to bring that up but after looking into it I realized it was two different things.

  3. Jon L. says:

    “whatever, it’s Vegas, who needs a nice room anyway?”

    should actually read.

    whatever, it’s Vegas, who needs a room anyway?

Leave a Reply

